Skip to Content

Ed Schreiber of Houston Receives 2021 Drex Foreman Award

Ed Schreiber

IIAT is proud to announce that Ed Schreiber, Houston Region President of BXS Insurance, was named the 2021 Drex Foreman Award winner at IIAT’s annual awards ceremony and business meeting. The ceremony took place on June 25, during IIAT’s INSURCON, at the Kalahari in Round Rock. Named after Drex Foreman, who served as the chief executive director of IIAT for more than 30 years, the Drex Foreman Award is the highest honor IIAT bestows annually to an individual who has contributed greatly to the independent agency system.

Schreiber is currently the Houston Region President of BXS Insurance and was the president of GEM Insurance of Houston prior to GEM Insurance joining with BXS Insurance in 2013. He is a past president of the Independent Insurance Agencies of Houston (IIAH) and a past board member of the Independent Insurance Agents of Texas (IIAT). He is also the immediate past chairman of the IIAT Services Corporation. He also served on the membership committee of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA).

Schreiber is very active serving his community. He is a past board chair of the Evelyn Rubenstein Jewish Community Center of Houston. He is currently the fundraising chair for a capital campaign to renovate the community center and Jewish Federation, both of which were damaged during Hurricane Harvey. Schreiber also serves on the executive committee of the Houston Jewish Community Foundation and the Jewish Community Centers of America National Board. He and his wife, Betsy, are longtime supporters of the Toqueville Society of the United Way of Houston.

“Ed’s selection for this award is a result of the countless hours he has volunteered both for our industry and in his community. He truly has given of his time, talents and financial support in many ways,” said Mark Ray, Vice President of Higginbotham Insurance in Corpus Christi.

See past winners