Skip to Content

Patrick Watkins of Austin Receives 2024 Drex Foreman Award

IIAT is proud to announce that Patrick Watkins, CEO of Watkins Insurance Group in Austin, was named the 2024 Drex Foreman Award winner at IIAT’s annual awards ceremony and business meeting. The ceremony occurred on June 21, during IIAT’s INSURCON, at the JW Marriot Hill Country San Antonio.

Named after Drex Foreman, who served as the chief executive director of IIAT for more than 30 years, the Drex Foreman Award is the highest honor IIAT bestows annually to an individual who has contributed greatly to the independent agency system.

Since joining the family business in 1994, Watkins Insurance Group has thrived under Patrick's leadership. Today, the company has a team of over 150 insurance professionals and offers a comprehensive range of business insurance, bonds, personal insurance, and employee benefits.

Watkins Insurance Group has been named a Top Workplace by the Austin-American Statesman for 13 consecutive years. For a decade, the IIABA and Reagan Consulting have recognized it as a best practices agency.

Patrick's contributions to the industry include numerous board and committee roles and many accolades, such as being IIAT’s Young Agent of the Year and the youngest recipient of the IIAA President’s Award at age 31. Patrick has served as President of IIAT and the Independent Insurance Agents of Austin. He has also served on several agent advisory councils, including Travelers, America First, Central Mutual, Safeco, The Hartford, Texas Mutual, and United Fire.

Patrick's commitment to community service is as remarkable as his professional achievements. His efforts have supported organizations like the Austin Symphony, Helping Hands Home, and Caritas, inspiring others to give back to their communities.

"Patrick's leadership in the industry and at his agency exemplify the values and vision that Drex Foreman cherished. His dedication to advancing our industry and his profound impact on the community make him deserving of our highest accolade," said IIAT President and Executive Director Marit Peters.

See past winners

image description

Matt Smith

Communications Director