Skip to Content

Texas Insurance CE Requirements

You have questions, we have answers.

Texas Insurance CE requirements apply to persons holding the following licenses:

General Property & Casualty Insurance Service Representative General Life, Accident, Health, and HMO Adjuster Managing General Agent.

  1. How many hours of CE do I need for my insurance license renewal?

    Most licenses require 24 hours of continuing education every two years.

    • Some license types require specific topics to be included.
    • Three hours must be ethics-related.
    • At least half of the hours must take place in a classroom or “classroom equivalent".
    • Hours must be completed one day before your license expires.


    For more information on your continuing education credits visit TDI’s website and click on your license type and then on Continuing Education Credits.

  2. Is there a grace period for license renewal?

    No, there is a $50 fine for every hour not completed on time, up to a maximum of $500 per license. You won't be able to renew your license until your continuing education is complete, and you've paid any fines. (There is no cap on fines for licenses that expired before June 1, 2018.)

  3. Where can I go to check how many CE credits I have?

    Visit the Sircon website to get a copy of your transcript, look up approved courses, and check your licensing renewal status. If some of your credits are missing, contact the course provider or send a copy of the certificate of completion and an explanation to [email protected] or fax it to 512-490-1054.

  4. Do I need to keep my certificates of completion?

    Record keeping is your responsibility. The course provider sends nothing to the TDI license division. The provider monitors the agent's attendance, records the agent's name and mailing address, and furnishes certification directly to the agent after the course has been completed. The certificates received from each course should be kept in a safe place for four years as TDI may audit these records at any time.

  5. Will I need to show proof of my continuing education?

    Documentation of compliance with CE requirements, or proof of exemption, is required each time one of these licenses is renewed. All of the licenses listed above are renewed every two years.

    Penalty for non-compliance- Failure to comply may subject the licensee to a fine, or suspension, revocation or cancellation of license.

  6. How do I become exempt from CE?

    An agent who has been licensed for 20 consecutive years is exempt from the continuing education requirement upon request. The exemption does not apply to the education requirements for licensees selling Medicare-related products. A request for exemption form is available from TDI. The request should include a history of licensure with dates, license types (life, LRA, solicitor), and TDI file numbers. Appointment cards or other information from insurance companies may suffice if the dates and numbers are incomplete. An agent that reaches the 20-year threshold within the first year of the two-year renewal period will receive notification of exemption for the entire period. An agent that reaches the 20-year threshold during the second year of the two-year renewal period should take at least 15 hours of continuing education during the first year and submit the exemption request at the beginning of the second year. In this case, the agent will receive notification of exemption effective for the second year only.

  7. Can I take the same course more than once in a two year license period?

    No, you will only receive a credit once if the same course is taken multiple times during a two-year license term.

  8. Are there CE perks for being a member of IIAT?

    The State and National Insurance Association Credit rule permits agents who (1) are members of a state or national insurance association (such as IIAT), or (2) hold a national designation certification (such as ACSR, CIC, or CPCU) to accumulate up to four hours of self-study CE credit by:

    • Reviewing educational materials provided by the national designation sponsor or state or national insurance association. Education material is defined in the rule as "printed or electronic materials with content intended to enhance the recipient's knowledge of insurance-related topics.
    • The maximum CE credit available for this activity is two hours.
    • Attending educational presentations sponsored by the national designation sponsor or state or national association. The educational presentation is defined in the rule as "a live presentation allowing for questions or discussion given to a group of three or more licensees and that provides information intended to enhance the recipient's knowledge of insurance-related topics." Examples: presentations at IIAT's Joe Vincent seminar, annual conference, RISE Expo, committee meetings, or board meetings.

    To claim CE credit under this rule, the agent should file form FIN523 (Request for Banking of Association Credit Accepted by TDI), available for downloading from the TDI website. Send it to the address on the form for recognition of credit in the current renewal cycle. TDI staff will record the credit hours in the CE database maintained for TDI by Sircon/Pearson Vue.

  9. Are there special requirements for Annuities?

    All licensees must complete a four-hour annuity certification course before they begin selling or soliciting annuites. If you hold a longevity exemption (20 years continuously licensed) you are still required to complete the four-hour annuity training course.

    If the original certification course is completed within the first twelve months of the license cycle, a certified four-hour annuity continuing education course must be completed during the second twelve months of the license cycle. Licensees must complete eight hours of certified annuity continuing education during each subsequent license cycle. Anyone with a longevity exemption is exempt from the continuing education requirement.

    IIAT offers a TDI approved annuity certification course on our ABEN online platform. For more information regarding requirements please see TDI’s website regarding annuity requirements.

  10. Are there special requirements for Medicare Related Products?

    Licensees must complete an eight-hour Medicare-related products certification course before they begin selling or soliciting Medicare-related products and must complete certified four-hour Medicare-related products continuing education course during each license cycle.

    Anyone with a longevity exemption (20 years continuously licensed) is not exempt from either the certification or the continuing education requirements. Click here for more information on TDI’s website.

Have additional questions about your license or CE requirements?

Visit TDI’s website for additional FAQs

Need CE?

We offer many convenient, CE-approved classes on personal and commercial lines topics.

Register for a Class
image description

Felicia Rodriguez

Education Coordinator

Thank You to Our Lead Underwriters

  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo
  • logo