Skip to Content

IIAT Honors State Senator Larry Taylor for Outstanding Political Action Contributions

IIAT is proud to announce that State Senator Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood) was awarded the Paige Eiland Political Action Award, presented at IIAT’s Annual Awards Ceremony and Business Meeting in San Antonio on June 24, 2022.

The Paige Eiland Award recognizes an IIAT member whose political involvement has had a great impact on the independent insurance agency system. The award has only been presented seven times since its inception 17 years ago. It was last presented in 2021 to Jim Gavin of Austin. The award is named for Paige Eiland of Stanton, Texas, a longtime IIAT member who worked tirelessly on behalf of agents in both state and federal political arenas.

Senator Taylor formerly owned Truman Taylor Insurance Agency in Friendswood, an independent agency started by his father more than 50 years ago. The agency merged with Galveston Insurance Associates in 2017. Senator Taylor has been an IIAT member for more than 30 years.

Before his election to the Texas Senate in 2012, he served five terms in the Texas House of Representatives. Throughout his tenure in the Texas House, he championed free enterprise for Texas businesses and worked tirelessly to rollback frivolous lawsuits that hurt individuals and the small companies they worked for. Taylor spent years reducing government mandates on employers to help reduce healthcare costs and make healthcare more accessible and affordable. He fought tirelessly to protect coastal policyholders from fraud and abuse after Hurricane Ike in 2008 and has not stopped since.

Senator Taylor has served five sessions in the Texas Senate, four of them as Chairman of the Senate Committee on Education. In December, Senator Taylor announced that he will not seek a third term in the Texas Senate. In a recorded message, Governor Greg Abbott called Senator Taylor a “tireless champion for the people of Texas and a great friend.”

“Senator Taylor has been a resource on insurance matters to fellow legislators since he first came to Austin. Whether working to improve TWIA, working with IIAT and the industry on important insurance legislation or working to revamp Public School Finance in Texas, Larry has been a true asset to Texas,” said IIAT Chief Legislative Officer Lee Loftis. “Larry’s dedicated service to our state, the insurance industry, to IIAT and his work on the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) make him a very deserving recipient of the 2022 Paige Eiland Award,” he said.

See past winners