Skip to Content

IIAT Honors Lee Loftis for Outstanding Political Action Contributions

IIAT Chief Legislative Officer Lee Loftis was awarded the Paige Eiland Political Action Award, presented at IIAT’s Annual Awards Ceremony in San Antonio on June 23, 2023.

The Paige Eiland Award recognizes an IIAT member whose political involvement has had a great impact on the independent insurance agency system. The award has only been presented eight times since its inception 18 years ago. It is named for Paige Eiland of Stanton, Texas an lIAT member who worked tirelessly on behalf of agents in both state and federal political arenas.

Loftis joined IIAT in 2006 as the Director of Government Affairs, bringing with him a wealth of insurance agency expertise. Prior to his tenure at IIAT, he served as an Independent Insurance Agent for 28 years, practicing his craft in Lubbock, Tyler, and eventually settling in Austin. Loftis’ dedication to his profession was recognized early on when he was honored as the IIAT Young Agent of the Year in 1989.

Loftis served as the president of IIAT from 1993 to 1994 and as the State National Director (SND) on the board of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (IIABA), solidifying his reputation as a trusted voice in the insurance community.

“Lee’s unwavering passion for the independent agency system, combined with his comprehensive understanding of the challenges faced by IIAT members, have been instrumental in his role as IIAT's Government Affairs Director and Chief Legislative Officer,” said Gaylon Brown, CEO of TexCap Insurance Services in Dallas, and a former IIAT Chair. “His influence and expertise have been particularly evident in recent legislative sessions where IIAT's Government Affairs team played a pivotal role in driving essential legislation forward,” said Brown.

Loftis’ strategic guidance and knowledge have led to significant achievements, including the successful passage of legislation pertaining to:

  • Change Notification on both Personal and Commercial policies,
  • Allowing Surplus Lines to offer quotes on certain Commercial lines policies,
  • Certificate of Insurance form regulation,
  • PEO work comp loss information disclosure, and
  • Regulation of Healthcare navigators under the new federal ACA.

In June, the Texas House adopted an informal resolution honoring Lee’s service to IIAT and the industry. “Lee's impact will continue to resonate within IIAT and the broader insurance community,” said Brown.

See past winners

image description

Matt Smith

Communications Director